A recent meeting of the Bradford County Prison Board revealed that initiatives to curb overpopulation and provide treatment for those entering the system addicted to opiates have been very effective. Participants included (above from back, left) President Judge Maureen Beirne, County Commissioner Ed Bustin, Deputy Warden Pete Quattrini, CommissionerContinue Reading

Photo and story by Rick Hiduk The Wyoming County Prison Board, including (above, from left) Atty. Paul Litwin; Commissioners Judy Mead, Tom Henry, and Ron Williams; Atty. Steve Franko; Warden Ken Repsher; President Judge Russell Shurtleff; and DA Jeff Mitchell met before a standing-room-only crowd on Aug. 24 to discuss waysContinue Reading

Photos and Story by Rick Hiduk Participants in the February meeting of the Wyoming County Prison Board included (clockwise from left) Solicitor Paul Litwin; Commissioners Judy Mead, Tom Henry, and Ron Williams; Chief Clerk Bill Gaylord; Warden Ken Repsher; Judge Russell Shurtleff; and Public Defender Deborah Albert-Heise. Wyoming County PrisonContinue Reading

The Bradford County Prison Board met at the Courthouse in Towanda on Jan. 8. Members include (above, from front, center) District Attorney Dan Barrett, County Commissioner Doug McLinko, Judge Maureen Beirne, Sheriff C.J. Walters, Deputy Warden Pete Quatrinni, Commissioner Daryl Miller, Warden Don Stewart, and Commissioner Mark Smith. The prisonContinue Reading

By Rick Hiduk A short prison board meeting preceded a much longer meeting of the Wyoming County Commissioners on Tuesday morning. Despite the brief agenda, the Aug. 12 meeting was well-attended with Warden Ken Repsher, Sheriff Ned Sherman, District Attorney Jeff Mitchell, Public Defender Deborah Albert-Heise, and President Judge RussellContinue Reading

Photo and Story by Rick Hiduk Wyoming County Prison Board members, including (from foreground) Sheriff Ned Sherman, Warden Ken Repsher, Assistant Warden Gordon Traveny, and Public Defender Deborah Albert-Heise held their monthly meeting at the courthouse in Tunkhannock on April 8.  There are currently 76 inmates incarcerated in Tunkhannock, andContinue Reading