New Bradford County Commissioner Sworn-In on Thursday

Bustin swear in

(Photo courtesy Bradford County Commissioners)

Prior to this morning’s regular meeting of the Bradford County Commissioners, Ed Bustin (center) was sworn in as the interim minority Commissioner by Bradford County Magisterial District Judge Michael Shaw (right) while Bustin’s friend Ralph Saggiomo held the Bible.

Bradford County President Judge Maureen Beirne wasted no time selecting an interim commissioner to fill the seat vacated on March 9 by Democrat Mark Smith. Ed Bustin of Sayre was appointed to the three-member board earlier this week and will serve as the minority Commissioner at least through January 2016.

Smith announced his resignation on Feb. 24 after accepting an appointment by Gov. To Wolf as a special assistant. After Republican Commissioners Doug McLinko and Daryl Miller bid a fond farewell to Smith at their final regular meeting together on Feb. 26, board members explained to the press that it would be Beirne’s duty to appoint an interim Commissioner.

Smith, who was youngest Commissioner in Bradford County when first elected in 2007, told reporters that he had no doubts that Beirne would choose the most qualified person for the job.

Among the applicants were Bustin, Christopher Bradley of Sayre, Robert Hugg of Columbia Cross Roads, Gene Osmun, and Phil Swank. Swank later withdrew his application.

Most recently, Bustin has served a the Environmental, Health and Safety Manager at Masco Cabinetry in Athens Township. Prior to that, he filled a variety of roles at Robert Pack Hospital, served as a fireman and member of the Greater Valley EMS Rescue Team, and sat on the boards of various civic organization and youth associations.

Prior to his appointment, Bustin, 54, told the Daily Review in Towanda that he felt that his experience as a manager in two different industries provided him with financial experience that would benefit him as commissioner. “I think my budgeting background can be very valuable for the county now,” he stated.

Bustin plans to officially run for the seat in the May 12 Primary Election. Osmun, who ran unsuccessfully against Smith in 2011 was unsure if he would run for Commissioner again this year.

Sayre/Athens District Magistrate Michael Shaw performed the swearing in ceremony in the Commissioners meeting room just prior to their 10 am meeting. Bustin was accompanied by his long-time friend and retired Philadelphia firefighter Ralph Saggiomo.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *