Participants in the Jan. 2 meeting of the Meshoppen Borough Council included (above, from left) councilman Jack Vaow, mayor Bruce Marshall, council president John Bunnell, secretary Phyllis Adams, treasurer Christine Swilley, and council members Doris Pickett, Mike Voorhees, and Bruce Priestner. (Absent from the reorganization meeting were council members MikeContinue Reading

A reorganized Laceyville Borough Council met on Tuesday evening, including (back, from left) Phil Brewer, Courtney Salsman, Kenneth Johnson, Mary Robinson, (front) Kristy Fassett, Randy Brigham, and Henry Laboranti. Photo and Story by Rick Hiduk With newly reelected Laceyville mayor Phil Brewer already sworn in, Brewer started the first meetingContinue Reading

Photos by Rick Hiduk The bright sunshine of the past few days did little to bring temperatures up over Meshoppen and Mehoopany Township as seen from Meshopany Ridge yesterday. Light snow this morning will give way to wicked winds and brutally cold temperatures. Shelter your animals and watch those waterContinue Reading

Wyoming County Commissioner Ron Williams (above, right) looks on as commissioner Tom Henry reads Resolution 2017-3 detailing the county’s lawsuit against major producers and distributors of prescription opiates they say have created a costly culture of drug abuse and addiction. Story and Photo by Rick Hiduk (As published in theContinue Reading